|DNA testing for celiac disease|
Celiac disease affects the digestive system and due to its effects on this part of the body, repercussions, side effects and secondary effects can often be experienced in other parts of the body or even psychologically. Celiac disease is essentially an immune reaction as well as the inability of the digestive system to absorb gluten.
DNA testing for celiac disease?
Genetic testing for heart disease, diabetes and a myriad of other diseases is today possible. These DNA tests will tell you whether or not you carry the gene mutations which are responsible for the disease. A DNA test could help confirm whether a person is a carrier of certain genes known to play a role in the synthesis of proteins as well as helping the human body identify proteins that are foreign to the body vis-à-vis the proteins produced by the body itself. The genes in question are known as HLA-DQA1 and HLA-DQB1.
Genetic testing for celiac disease can be carried using blood samples or oral swab samples and are readily provided by many DNA testing laboratories. If the test is actually an analysis of your genes, then whether you are actually consuming gluten or not will not affect the result (in other words, there is no chance of false positives or false negative). The blood test works differently. When using blood, the labs in question will usually need to indentify whether or not your body produces antibodies as an abnormal response to gluten protein. Clearly, the person tested must be consuming gluten at the time of the test for scientists to establish whether there is an autoimmune response to gluten in the bloodstream.
Gluten & Celiac Disease
Foods that should be avoided by celiac include any foods containing wheat such as pasta, pizza, pastries, cakes and many other foods which may not naturally contain gluten but which are processed in factories which also process gluten-containing food.
Oats, for example, do not naturally contain any gluten but should generally be avoided by celiac sufferers unless labeled as “gluten-free”. Non- gluten free oats contain gluten simply because the factories that produce then also process wheat and thus, the oats get contaminated with gluten. People with celiac disease should carefully read food labels and even medicine labels as often these will contain hidden sources of wheat which one would only know about by carefully reading the ingredients.
People with celiac disease are unable to digest gluten, a type of protein found in wheat. It gives dough its gluey, elastic consistency. People with celiac disease are not to be confused with people suffering from gluten intolerance. Gluten intolerant people exhibit milder side effects from consuming foods containing gluten. Treatment for celiac disease is in fact the total avoidance of gluten-containing foods.
What happens when someone with celiac disease consumes wheat?
When someone with celiac disease consumes wheat, they experience a lot of discomfort. They get abdominal cramps, diarrhea and other unpleasant symptoms. The intake of gluten damages the lining of the stomach and digestive tract because celiacs are unable to digest the gluten. The digestive system lining is actually made of tiny finger like projections known as villi which help increase the surface area for absorption of minerals and important vitamins.
The damage to the digestive system will lead to malabsorptionof nutrients which in turn will have negative effects on the liver, brain and general well-being of the person. Once a celiac sufferer eliminates gluten from their diet, it may take several years for the body to heal.
Helen McArthur is a part time free lance writer specializing in pregnancy and prenatal care. Helen worked as a nurse in the prenatal care unit for several years before putting her career on hold to look after her kids. A number of articles by the author can be found in the article repository for www.easydna.ch.